Choose your news

Thursday, June 23, 2016

Bates County FSA: Committee person needed

Needed in Bates County: a Committee Person for the local Farm Service Agency

This year, nominations and elections will be held in LAA 2, which includes townships of; Deer Creek, Mound, Grand, Shawnee, Summit, Deep Water, Spruce, and Mingo.

The nomination period for the Bates FSA county committee is ongoing. Nomination forms must be postmarked or received in the Bates County FSA Office by close of business on Aug. 1, 2016. County Committees are unique to FSA and allow producers to have a voice on federal farm program implementation at the local level.

To be eligible to serve on the FSA county committee, a person must participate or cooperate in an agency administered program, be eligible to vote in a county committee election and reside in the Local Administrative Area (LAA) where they are nominated.

Producers may nominate themselves or others as candidates. Organizations representing minority and women farmers and ranchers may also nominate candidates. To become a nominee, eligible individuals must sign form FSA-669A. The form and more information about county committee elections is available online at:

Ballots will be mailed to eligible voters beginning Nov. 7. Ballots are due back in the Bates County Office no later than Dec. 5, 2016. All newly elected county committee members and alternates will take office January 1, 2017.

For more information about county committees, please contact the Bates County FSA office at 660-679-6112, 625 west Nursery in Butler or visit


Pageviews last month